Home » Solar » Andhra Pradesh to have 2 solar cities

Andhra Pradesh to have 2 solar cities

According to reports, Andhra Pradesh will have two solar cities – one each in Telangana and coastal Andhra regions. They will be developed as part of the national plan unveiled by the Union Ministry of Renewable Energy.

The Ministry has identified Vijayawada in coastal Andhra and Mahabubnagar in Telangana regions to be developed as solar cities.

The MNRE has so far given in principle approval for 54 locations in the country to develop solar cities. In 2011, it announced a national plan to develop 60 solar cities.

The master plan of Vijayawada city has been prepared with an estimated cost of Rs 256.50 crore for various projects on solar grid connected and off grid applications, waste to energy, bio-methanisation, solar water heating systems etc.

In contrast, Mahabubnagar Municipality is yet to take action for preparation of the Master Plan, according to the Union Minister, Farooq Abdullah.

For Vijayawada solar city, an amount of Rs 12.20 lakh has been released for the preparation of master plan and setting up a solar city cell and promotional activities, the Minister said in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha.

A solar city aims to reduce a minimum of 10 per cent of its projected demand of conventional energy through generation from renewable energy installations and energy efficiency measures. The time required depends on interest and efforts taken by the city and availability of funds.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top