Home » CleanTech/ Renewable Energy » Five bureaucrats in the reckoning for Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Five bureaucrats in the reckoning for Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

The role of renewable energy has been growing and gaining acceptance in mainstream India, with the launch of the ambitious National Solar Mission and continued capacity addition growth in the wind sector.

The sector now seems to have got the attention and interest of bureaucrats with five senior bureaucrats in the reckoning for the post of Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.

Among the front runners include – Madhav Lal, Zohra Chatterjee, RP Watal, Dr Sutanu Behuria and Lov Verma.

Madhav Lal is  the incumbent chief secretary (CS) to J&K. He is from the JK 1977 (IAS) batch and was appointed as CS on February 2, 2011.

Madhav was born on June 4, 1955 and he has done B.SC (honors) Physics, M.Sc Physics and MPA.

A resident of Delhi, Madhav has served the state of Jammu and Kashmir in various capacities including principal secretary to government- forest department, principal Secretary to government- planning and development department and OSD in the resident commission, J&K government.

Zohra Chatterji, is a IAS/Uttar Pradesh/1979 officer, Additional Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Coal and also held additional charge as  Chairman-cum-Managing Director of Coal India Limited during an interim period before the appointment of current incumbent S. Narsing Rao.

R P Watal, is a  IAS/Andhra Pradesh/1978 officer, currently serving as Secretary, Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas .

Dr. Sutanu Behuria is as IAS/Himachal Pradesh/1976 officer, currently serving as Secretary to the Ministry of Minorities Affair. It is noteworthy that Dr. Sutanu Behuria moved from the National Disaster Management Authority MHA to this present position in just about an year.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top